Fri-DIY: Hanging Tea Cup Flowers

hanging tea cupSometimes I run across a brilliant idea and wonder why I’ve never seen it or thought of it before!? Adorable teeny flower arrangements in hanging tea cups definitely fall into that category. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about them since I saw them over at Snippet and Ink. (How wonderful is the rest of this wedding, too? Boutonnieres arranged on a floral lined tray, custom illustrated fans! Swoon!)

Hanging tea cup flowersIt was only a matter of time before I tried my hand at making my own. I’d rate this project as a 2 in difficulty on a scale of 1-10. I really couldn’t believe how fast and easy this came together. All you need is:

A roll of crepe paper streamers (I used these instead of the fabric strips used in the wedding inspiration)

A tea cup with saucer

Alstroemeria flowers (sometimes called Peruvian Lilly)

Blue painters tape

Stapler filled with staples

Something to hang the arrangement from (I used my chandelier, but the wedding inspiration used shepherd hooks.)

Hanging tea cup flowersMeasure the length you would like the arrangement to hang. Cut a piece of the streamer 4 times that length plus another 8 inches. The extra inches allow for the width of the saucer and some extra length for stapling.

Loop the streamer twice around whatever you are hanging the arrangement from. Staple the two ends of the streamer together. I used 3 staples across the width of the streamer and it held just fine. Tuck the stapled part under so it won’t be visible.

Gently place the saucer into the loop of streamers. Separate the two layers of streamer a little so the saucer is help firmly in place.

Put just a little water in the tea cup. Water is heavy, so don’t fill it all the way, just a 1/4 – 1/2 inch should do it. Cut the alstroemeria short so that the blossoms and leaves just rest on the rim of the tea cup. Two stems of alstroemeria should fill the tea cup nicely.

If you’re nervous, fold over a bit of blue painters tape so it’s sticky on both sides  and stick on the bottom of the tea cup. Then gently place the tea cup in the saucer. Voila! Suspended adorableness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fri-DIY: Hanging Tea Cup Flowers

  1. birdhouses says:

    These are adorable. I’ve been looking for something special to do for my friend’s bridal shower, and this is just what I want! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

