Pour Me One: Tecate Rodrigo Style

Tecate Rodrigo styleMy grandmother isn’t much of a drinker, but every now and then she’ll announce she would like an ice cold beer because there’s nothing more refreshing on a hot summer afternoon. Well, a portion of a beer, at least. What she actually means is ‘Stephanie, go get a beer and pour me a tiny juice glass from yours.’ Who am I to argue with grandma?

I have to agree with her that a straight from the ice chest domestic light beer is one of the most refreshing summer drinks out there. I’m not ashamed to admit it’s normally my drink of choice during scalding weather. I’ll save red wine and porters for cooler weather, thank you.

However, not long ago I spent a rather warm evening at a back porch party with my friend Rodrigo. I had my go-to freezing light beer in a festive coozie. He was drinking beer from a sticky red can but only after performing a very specific ritual. He’d take an unopened can of Tecate beer, squeeze the juice from half a tiny key lime on top and sprinkle with salt. Only then did he crack the beer, which caused an unexpected beer-meets-lime-juice spray. I couldn’t resist. It just looked delicious and kind of fun, so he relented and made me one, too. The first sip was a delicious high ratio mix of salt and lime to beer. The rest of the lime and salt settled happily into the remaining beer and gave every sip a subtle reminder of citrus and beachy salt.

I’m not sure I’ll be able to talk grandma in to trying a Tecate Rodrigo style, but I bet she would agree that it gives a cold domestic beer a serious challenge for summer refreshment.

This entry was posted in Pour Me One and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pour Me One: Tecate Rodrigo Style

  1. Carin says:

    My father also likes just a little bit of a beer, and he’s been able to occasionally find 6 oz beer cans! They’re just adorable. You might keep a look out for them for your grandma!

  2. Rodrigo says:

    Thank you for adding me to your blog. I am honored… especially with my Beer “TECATE”. I have one comment remember to crack the can a little then squeeze the lime and salt on lip then pop and A Big Swig. I am running to the store right now. Thanks again

  3. Megan says:

    I had a “Rodrigo style Tecate” last night in honor of your blog post! Yum. 🙂

  4. Stephanie says:

    Thanks, guys!
    Carin, I can occasionally find those for her!
    Rodrigo, thank you for setting my technique straight.
    Yay, Megan!

Leave a Reply

